How to protect your emails, using Gmail

Have you ever thought about what happens to your emails after you send them? When your emails contain personal or confidential information, you, probably, did not wish they were someone intercepted, printed, forwarded or just lying in a folder Incoming, waiting until the latter will crack some hackers.

So you can feel safer using Gmail, Google added a special private modethat allows you to set the date of expiry in the email so that access to it will expire at the end of this time span. There you can also use two-factor authentication from your Google account using the code from the SMS sent to the mobile phone number of the recipient of the letter to confirm his identity before being able to access email. And, of course, you can retroactively revoke, or reinstate the recipient to the previously sent “confidential” emails.

How to create a letter in privacy mode

Sensitive mode is currently only available in the mobile Gmail app from the menu, which is accessed by tapping the icon in the upper right corner.

  1. On the main Gmail screen, click on the icon +to create a new letter.
  2. Press the menu button. It is located in the upper right corner of the screen.

  3. Select private mode.
  4. Tap the drop-down list in the section to Define the term access , and select the time till expiration e-mails. You can choose from one day to five years.
  5. Now tap on the drop down list under Include a code request accessif you want to add an additional level of security for its letters. To use password from SMS you also need to know the mobile number of the recipient.

  6. Click Saveto return to the screen for creating letters.

Depending on the options you have set up for writing in privacy mode, the receiver will have time-limited access to content or will have to confirm their identity using the mobile phone number you provided.

How to revoke access to email, sent via a Confidential mode

After you sent the letter via private mode, appointing the date of expiration of its validity period, you can cancel the access before or to go back and regain access to an already overdue letter.

  1. On the home screen Gmail tap the menu icon to the left of the search bar.
  2. Click on Sentto the folder sent emails.

  3. Click on the Confidential letter, which you sent.
  4. Click Deny accessto block the access of the recipient to that email.

  5. In addition, you can Extend the access to the overdue letter by clicking the appropriate button in the same place.

Using the Sensitive mode gives you more options to control who gets access to sensitive or personal information, or files sent to you by email. The ability to revoke someone’s access to what you already sent, is very rare in this kind of applications.

Share your opinion in the comments under this material in our Telegram chat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *