5 settings of Google Chrome, you need to change all

The extensive features of Google Chrome make it not only a convenient browser, but dangerous as well. Is wrong to understand the principle of operation of various functions like you can lose something valuable. For example, to keep track of the safety of their own data that may inadvertently be in the wrong hands. But that such situations do not happen, Google has added to Chrome a number of special tools that will allow you to protect your data and your privacy from outsiders. It is important to know what to do.

Chrome contains so many settings, which might get messy. But some of them can help protect your privacy

The contents

How to enable auto-delete history in Chrome

In Chrome there is an autodelete function history. Now you can not delete information about open sites manually

It is not necessary to store all the history in the browser memory where it can gain access to unauthorized persons. Therefore, we strongly recommend that you configure automatic deletion of the data. To do this, go to “Settings” — “Sync with Google” — “Use of data on the pages visited” — “Manage history” and select the desired option: delete after 18 months, or remove after 3 months.

How to block data transfer from Chrome to Google

Chrome allows you to establish a ban on sending data to Google

Chrome, like any other Google service, collects data about the user and sends them to the search giant. The company said that this information is used to improve the quality of service, however we cannot be 100% sure. Therefore, we would recommend to minimize the amount of information that your browser sends Google. To do this, go to “Settings” — “Sync Google services” — “Other Google services” and disable those options that you think are unacceptable. For example, safe browsing or checking your spelling.

How to block notifications from websites in Chrome

Tired of notifications from websites? Just unplug them

Now among sites, it is common practice to inform regular visitors of released materials. But if regular readers that’s a plus, for a casual – a real minus, especially if you subscribe by accident. Fortunately, Chrome allows you to either disable the notification or to unsubscribe from mailings from specific resources. To do this, go to “Settings” — “Advanced” — “site Settings” — “Notifications” and configure notifications the way you want.

How to prevent sites from tracking you

Geolocation and cookies allow to monitor any person. Just unplug them

Despite the fact that the surveillance on the Internet has long become commonplace, many choose not to follow the tastes of all the rest, carefully preserving their privacy. But what kind of privacy may be involved if any site can determine the place where you are, and save the cookies then let him know that it was you who opened it again. To disable the tracking and saving of cookies, go to “Settings” — “Advanced” — “site Settings”, and then alternately click the tabs “cookie” and “Location” and add the sites that are not allowed to track you.

How to prevent sites from running in the background

Some sites continue to work even after closing. But they can find justice

Many sites are able to run in the background even if you minimize the browser or even shut it down. Most of it is done for the convenience of users who can receive notifications from social networks or synchronize files from your computer to the cloud. However, sometimes there are malicious resources, which continue to run in the background, dropping off the battery of your laptop. To forbid them to do so, go to “Settings” — “Advanced” — “site Settings” — “Background sync”, and uncheck the option that allows recently closed sites continue to synchronize data with a computer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *